Writing Again, Walking Again, and All’s Well

Smiley Face

First things first. Thank you so much, everyone, for all the encouragement after my last panic-stricken post. I was feeling overwhelmed with…everything–all of my own doing, of course. It was a good feeling to know you all were rooting for me, and it helped give me determination to do what I needed to do to get my act together. 🙂

So, these last three weeks I have not gone online except to research the story I’m writing. It’s been hard, let me tell you. I had to go cold turkey, as I told Mrs. D. Ranged, because I know it’s too easy for me to fall into the black hole of blogs. I start reading, and before I know it hours and hours have gone by. But the strict measures have paid off. I’m about two-thirds done with my draft and still 10 days from my deadline. I have decided not to beat myself up about it not being perfect, which is also hard, but at the same time a relief.

More good news: Today, I am two weeks into walking on my own, no crutches, no scooter. In fact, I am typing this post as I walk on the treadmill at 2.5 miles an hour–quite a bit slower than pre-broken ankle, but I’ll take it! My ankle and foot still swell, and sometimes I still have to concentrate on not limping at day’s end, but I’m getting there. I even started driving again this past weekend. It’s a great feeling to be completely independent once more. But it’s HUGE as far as my oldest son is concerned because he no longer has to act as my chauffer. Just in the nick of time too–he swore off driving Saturday night after he got his first speeding ticket ever on his way home from Flagstaff. 🙂

Promotional poster

I have allowed myself two guilty pleasures the last three weeks to relieve the seriousness and intensity of Civil War research and the frustration of translating it to kid level. First, from my perch on the couch, I came way late to the “Lost” party. I had always wanted to watch it, but between young kids and work I could not find the time while the show was actually running. So, when the subject popped up on MJ Monaghan’s blog, and then I saw it soon after on Amazon Prime, I knew it was fate. I watched the first episode and I was hooked, of course. And I’m happy to say I have dragged hubby and kids into it, too. We are having a fun time trying to figure out what is going on on that crazy little island.

Soulless (novel)

My other avenue of escape is reading for a while before going to sleep. I was shopping on my Nook, and came across a book I thought would be fun and quick. It was also on sale for 99 cents–perfect. It was called Soulless by Gail Carriger. And now I know what steampunk is. Also marketing, because I have since bought the other four books in the series for $7.99 each.

And my dreams at night have been a combination of Civil War tactics, steampunk fun, and “Lost” mysteries. Oy. I will be happy to take a small break from all of it and rest my brain, but not until the end of the month when I send my draft to Highlights. At which time, I will also get back to blogging on a regular basis. I hope you will all still be here when I get back. 🙂

About Jeannette Monahan

A writer sidetracked by life, with a husband and two boys who shine brighter than Arizona sunshine. Visit me at my blogs: jeannettemonahan.wordpress.com or jmmonahan.wordpress.com. You are always welcome.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Health, Musings, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Writing Again, Walking Again, and All’s Well

  1. mj monaghan says:

    I’ll be here. We Monahans/Monaghans have to stick together.

    All the best to you on your writing and recovery. So glad you picked up LOST for the whole family. It’s the best, isn’t it? And thanks for the mention, BTW.

  2. drangedinaz says:

    Nice to see you finally surface. :). And thaks for the mention too! I want to read the Highlights article when it comes out…is that possible without subscribing to the mag?

  3. pharphelonus says:

    Big props for your discipline. Awesome. And the healing

  4. emjayandthem says:

    Yay for you!!

    LOST was simply the best show ever on TV. Didn’t miss an episode & my youngest & I enjoyed it together. I have poutingly protested watching TV ever since … happy healing 🙂
    MJ

    • Hi MJ! Yep, totally hooked on Lost. The best fun is the whole family watching together, which I probably wouldn’t have let the kids do when they were younger when the show was first on TV. There are some pretty good cliffhangers there. We are currently at the end of season 2. I have decided I don’t really like Jack that much, even though he seems to be the hero of the show.

  5. dabaudoin says:

    New to your blog–just wanted to say hello from another alleged middle-ager chasing the writing dream. Actually, it was the “Soulless” cover art that caught my attention. I’m really curious about reading that book. Glad to see a good review. Once again, nice blog! Deb

    • Hi Deb–nice to meet you! Thank you so much for reading my blog. 🙂 The books were fun to read and I definitely recommend them if you like that kind of thing. Lots of humor and adventure. I hope you’ll come back and let me know how you like them. I will be over to check out your blog soon–when I’m out of my self-imposed blog exile. 🙂

  6. subtlekate says:

    You have to have some relieve but I’m so impressed with you. 🙂 Congrats. I bet you feel fantastic.

  7. Thanks, Kate! But I feel a little guilty–I wouldn’t have needed such “heroic” measures if I had been doing what I needed to in the first place, so don’t be too impressed! 😉 But yes, I do feel much better.

  8. Hi Jeannette, I am so glad you are recovering. I think I will have to do the same as you–take a couple weeks off the blog in order to polish a novel in preparation for the PNWA conference.

    I was dismayed to discover that you are sending out posts, and although I am signed up to follow you, I am not receiving them. I looked all over your website for a ‘follow’ button that would notify me when a new post came out, but couldn’t find one anywhere. I’m not very technical, and this has happened with a couple of other blogs that I am following. Do you have an e-mail notification feature?

    Best of luck on your healing and your writing!

    • Thanks so much, Naomi. I hope your novel-polishing is going well and that you have a great conference. 🙂

      I have added the email notification button to the blog. I thought it was there before, but I must have lost it at some point as I try to figure out all the widgets, and gadgets, and whizzits of WordPress.

Leave a Reply

