Getting My MOTIVATION On

A Christmas present from my brother, This motivates and inspires me.

Writing every weekday for a month–what was I thinking? I shouldn’t be surprised I haven’t been able to keep that schedule. But I am still calling the Blog Me MAYbe challenge a success so far, because I have been posting more, and it has been a challenge…

I am dubbing today MOTIVATION Monday, and I am getting MOTIVATED! It has been exactly four weeks since the unfortunate Zumba incident, four weeks since I put any effort into writing at all (minus the blog), and I really need to get back to work. No more excuses. Besides, I’m tired of feeling helpless. After all, it’s not my brain or my fingers that are broken, is it?

It fits, too, because Mondays in this challenge are to tell you something about writing. So, I will tell you that I started a writing blog at the same time I started this one. My intent there is to chronicle my “mid-life writing journey.” I have tried to put down step-by-step how a work-at-home mom has gone about trying to have a writing career. It’s been a little while since I posted over there–as usual, I bit off a quite a bit more than I could chew by starting two blogs. But I might have to head over there for some MOTIVATION, to remember how hard I’ve worked and how much I want to succeed. As for the blog itself…I’m thinking I will have to merge it with this one, just so I can keep up. I’m not sure how to do that, so WordPress for Dummies is on my list of things to read this week. (I think I’ve probably said that before and never got around to it, which is, sadly, also par for my course.)

What I’m motivated for today.

Before my fall, I was working on a children’s article about sperm whales and jojoba plants. I’m also trying to come up with a children’s angle on the Civil War as it was fought in Arizona. I need to get going on these projects because in July I am going to a Highlights workshop in Pennsylvania–and I feel like a pretender enough without showing up empty-handed. How’s that for MOTIVATION? 🙂

I am also going to work on my copy-editing classes, because this writing thing is taking a bit longer than I’d hoped to be successful and I don’t want to be unemployed forever. Of course, this is another long-term project–I’m probably a year out from completing the certificate, but dang it, I’m MOTIVATED! So I will get these two classes done, and sign up for two more in September.

I hope you all are also MOTIVATED in your writing and other projects. I am going to channel all my MOTIVATION energy into the collective unconscious, so feel free to grab some if you need it. Send yours, too, please, because I talk a good game in the mornings, but along about 2:00 I will probably need a MOTIVATION refill!

About Jeannette Monahan

A writer sidetracked by life, with a husband and two boys who shine brighter than Arizona sunshine. Visit me at my blogs: jeannettemonahan.wordpress.com or jmmonahan.wordpress.com. You are always welcome.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Journal Sorts of Things, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Getting My MOTIVATION On

  1. Deadlines- all the motivation I need.

    This blog me maybe is challenging, but, like you, I’m posting more, enjoying it and gaining more followers. So, nearly half way through and judging it a success.

    I think, as WordPress contemporary newbies, we’ve done pretty well so far. *mutual pats on back

  2. Talk to me...I'm your Mother says:

    Well, I need a shot in the arm. I’m sure one will come along. Just need to read or watch something inspiring. Good luck on the merging.

    • Thanks! Wouldn’t that be great if motivation could be administered with a shot in the arm? I’d sign up for that. Hope you’ve found some inspiration in the last couple days. 🙂

  3. subtlekate says:

    I think writing every weekend for a month is a great idea. I may try this. I don’t need to succeed, but getting butt in chair will help.

    • I think that is an excellent idea–writing every weekend instead of every weekday. Much more do-able for me, obviously, since I am having a hard time keeping up with the daily schedule…despite the fact that my butt has been in chair for over a month! 🙂

  4. I am so very happy to have read this today as I am feeling very unmotivated this week! I’ve got nothing…can’t come up with any future things to write about at the moment. You are very inspiring with all you’ve got going on! Those children’s articles you’re writing sound fascinating! I’m supposed to be writing every single day (I’ve started a novel, someone shoot me now) but I need that swift kick in the butt to keep it up. Send me one through cyberspace, will ya? Thanks!

    • I would, but I’d probably fall off my crutches! 🙂 A novel! So cool. I am jealous of all you fiction writers. I am sending you some virtual motivation, Darla. Write your book, so I can read it!

Leave a Reply

