Broken Bones and Blessings

I have not been too consistent on the posting for the Blog Me MAYbe challenge. I missed yesterday’s post, in which I was to ask something about you, so I will do that today…better late than never (which is the story of my life). Today’s post is to tell you something about someone else, and I will try to do that too.

Ugh–it’s an ugly thing these days.

As you can imagine, broken bones have been on my mind a bit–this is my first one ever. I was at the doctor on Monday and was thrilled to be able to skip a cast and go to a boot, which I don’t have to wear if my leg is up. Yay! Sometimes, I almost feel whole and uninjured, until I spy my crutches  or see the huge Steri-Strip covered scar on my ankle, outlined by the purple marker the doctor used during surgery. When I look at my leg, I am amazed at how little time it took for my skin to dry out and my muscle to lose all its tone. It doesn’t look like my leg at all.

My brother, Joe, understands, because a few years ago he was going through the same thing. He had come up from Tucson for my younger son’s birthday party. We had taken all the kids to a rock-climbing gym, something we had all done before.  We were all having a blast–until Joe jumped. He had decided to free climb a wall, and when he came down, he jumped to the mat from about three feet up. It was one of those soft, couple-feet-thick mats, and his left ankle rolled when he landed on it. The arrival of the paramedics was kind of exciting for the kids, who, though they were worried about Uncle Joe, had never seen something like this up close and personal, and kids are curious. A couple hours later, Joe was back home at our now somewhat subdued birthday party. But, he had had painkillers and was making jokes in his happy place, and we all started having fun again.

But I think my brother’s recovery was much harder than mine is. First of all, he was living a couple hours away from all of us. He was living alone. He is in the Air Force, so he had a full-time job. I cannot imagine how hard it must have been for him, having to keep his leg elevated yet fend for himself. Of course, Joe had friends who looked in on him and helped some, but it’s not the same as having somebody around on a regular basis.

I think of Joe recovering from his broken ankle, and I realize yet again how lucky I am.

Even that first week I was injured, when my husband was away, I had my (now) teenage son, my mom, and my neighbor to help me out. I’ve been a work-at-home mom, so I’ve never worried about “going to work,” and recently I’ve been an unemployed work-at-home mom, so I don’t have to worry about work at all while I’m recovering. (I’m going to call that a good thing.) Best of all, my husband’s job became virtual in January, so he also works at home when he’s not traveling. I can’t imagine how dreary these days would be if he were gone every day from 6 a.m. to 4 p.m.

I am truly a lucky girl.

Now, I’d like to know about you–have you ever had a broken bone? What’s the story behind it?

About Jeannette Monahan

A writer sidetracked by life, with a husband and two boys who shine brighter than Arizona sunshine. Visit me at my blogs: jeannettemonahan.wordpress.com or jmmonahan.wordpress.com. You are always welcome.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Health, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Broken Bones and Blessings

  1. It’s strange to say that an injury can be a blessing, but I had a major sports injury my early years of college and all I did was read, sometimes the body needs a reason to let the mind take over. Hope your recovery goes well.

  2. Samir says:

    Um luckily no, I haven’t. But well wishes on your recovery 🙂

  3. M.C.V. Egan says:

    Wow that does look like it has been a painful one! Hope it heals perfectly and quickly,

  4. Cecile says:

    Can’t say I’ve ever broken anything – I’m trying to keep it that way for the time being. I do tend to sprain my ankle quite a lot though. I hope your recovery will be a quick one 🙂

    • Yes, keep it that way and don’t wear socks when you exercise! You must have experience on crutches if you sprain your ankle often. I did that once. No crutches then, but painful. Thanks for the well wishes, Cecile. 🙂

  5. emjayandthem says:

    doesn’t it feel amazing to have fresh air kiss that stale skin, having been covered for sooo long?

    I am glad to hear you are recovering so well 🙂

    In the 70s, wearing bell bottom jeans, I caught the front part of my jeans on the pick of my figure skates during “all skate night.” Landing on my elbow, I shattered it — the pain was slightly less humiliating that the spectacular fall I took in front of the cutest boy in town. Still remember it like it was yesterday — and how quickly it swelled to the size of a baseball. It healed but when I get really chilled that elbow turns a weird purple color .. 30+ years later.

    Happy healing to you! MJ

    • It did feel amazing, MJ. Thank you. 🙂 And I think I know that purple color you are talking about– that’s what color my foot and ankle turn every time I put it down. I was hoping it would be temporary…

      • emjayandthem says:

        The purple won’t last forever, I promise. I had foot surgery last year and my big toe was an angry red/purple color for a long time .. and then one day, it wasn’t 🙂 Now the scar is faded but still fierce. 🙂 MJ

      • Thanks for giving me hope, MJ–I know it’s silly, but I really have been worried about by foot being purple whenever I walk, especially since I wear sandals probably nine months of the year.

  6. Carrie-Anne says:

    My right tibia and fibula were shattered, and a bone chip was torn from my right knee, on 19 August 2003, when I was 23 year old. I was told that they were broken so severely that 40-50 years ago I would’ve been an amputee. Some 87-year-old woman wouldn’t wait for me to finish crossing the street after the light changed, immediately began driving, pushed me onto the hood of her car, kept driving when I tumbled onto the street, and only stopped driving when my legs became locked under the back driver’s side wheel and she was unable to keep moving the car.

    I had 4 leg surgeries and 3 related plastic surgeries between August 2003 and September 2009. It was a lucky thing that my right leg rolled on top of my left leg and protected it, even though both legs were locked under the wheel. Most of my strength and dexterity is in the left side of my body, so I broke the right leg in more ways than one.

    Good luck on your recovery. When I was up to the walking-boot stage, I was told I had to regularly vacuum it out, because dead skin cells can build up like crazy while your body is healing.

  7. Holy smokes! A story like that can really put things in perspective, and again, I count my blessings. I’m so sorry that happened to you, Carrie-Anne–I hope you are well now. And thanks for the tip. 🙂 When I’m wearing the boot, I make sure to wear one of my husband’s socks that comes almost to my knee. Right now, I’m out of the boot more than I’m in it, but I know that will change in a few weeks, when I get to start walking a little.

  8. I’ve never broken a bone – fingers crossed. That’s quite a picture of your poor leg. My husband broke his finger a few years ago, sailing. A spiral fracture, where the bone twists and splinters. Makes me feel queasy just thinking about it.

  9. subtlekate says:

    A few too many unfortunately. I’ve have an ankle reconstruction, twice, really not nice, I had a fractured skull, a broken arm. a collarbone…I could go on, but I’m very glad you are now in the boot, that’s great progress – you are doing great.

    • Oh my gosh. You could go on? There’s more? I can’t even imagine what all that must have been like, Kate. I hope you are completely recovered and that you never go through it again–that’s more than enough for one lifetime! Yes, the boot is great. It’s off more than it’s on because I’m not weightbearing yet, but when it’s on, I feel very protected which gives me great peace of mind when I’m out and about.

  10. Lana Powers says:

    I always know when it’s about to rain, thanks to the arm I broke from a fall off my bicycle (age 40).

Leave a Reply

