Random Thoughts and Blog Me MAYbe…Maybe

Oh my gosh, I can’t believe it is the first of May already! It’s been two weeks since I broke my ankle, one week since surgery. I was able to sit out on my back patio for a couple hours this morning. I still had to have my foot up on the picnic table and it was kind of awkward, but it was so good to have fresh air and a slight breeze blowing on me. I appreciated it.

While I was out back, I finished the book I’ve been reading, 1861: The Civil War Awakening by Adam Goodheart. A really, really good read if you like history and learning about the past. While I was reading it, I felt like I was there just as the country was spooling up for civil war. It is a truly fascinating story — so much more to it than I learned about in school. It makes me wonder what it would feel like to, in 150 years, read about the spool-up to the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. What take will history have on it? I’m not sure.

I’ve been trying not to get too frustrated at not being able to do things for myself, to just accept. I keep thinking of all the people who have come back from the desert wars without limbs and how their whole lives are changed completely and forever. I can understand now, if only a little, some of what they must go through. My broken ankle might keep me down a couple months — it’s really no comparison. Yet, these thoughts cause me to count my blessings daily, as cliché as that sounds.

I turned on the laptop this morning, after I came back inside, with the full intention of doing my copyediting class work. But…I got caught up reading everyone’s blogs and thinking how cool it is to be connected with all of you.  I saw Elle’s blog post on Blog Me MAYbe and followed her link to Sara McClung, and in a fit of enthusiasm submitted a link to my blog — now I am to try and post to my blog every weekday during the month of May. Every weekday.

Starting today.

Every day.

Holy **** …what was I thinking?!? My last fit of enthusiasm landed me on the floor with a broken ankle. How will I do this? It’s going to fry my brain.

But, really, what better time? I actually have a lot of extra time, if I  use it wisely. I’m not doing the whole getting-kids-ready-for-school thing. I’m not doing the whole driving-kids-to-school thing. I’m not doing laundry, sweeping dust bunnies (oh, but it’s driving me crazy!), or loading the dishwasher. I’m not cooking dinner (though, to be fair, I don’t do much of that anyway). I’m not writing either, which I should be doing…blogging is writing, though. So.

And wasn’t I just going on a couple weeks ago about all those prolific blog-posting people and wishing I could keep up like that? I really have no excuses, at the moment. So, I guess I will try and we’ll see how it goes. It beats sitting around. 🙂

Thanks, Elle!

So here’s the schedule from Sara McClung’s Blog Me MAYbe post:

Mondays: May I tell you something about writing?
This can be anything writing-related. A post on craft. A post on your process. A snippet of your WIP, if you like to share. A book on craft that you want to recommend. Things you struggle with. Things you rock at. ANYTHING at all! 

Tuesdays: May I tell you something about myself?
Pretty self-explanatory 🙂 Share something about yourself that your followers might not know. Or maybe they do. It doesn’t matter–this is just so people who read your blog can get to know you a little better. 

Wednesdays: May I ask something about you?
Ask your followers something about themselves. 

Thursdays: May I tell you something about someone else?
Make this post about someone else. A writing friend. A critique partner. A person from history who’s fascinating. A character from a book. Anyone you want. 🙂 Have a guest poster. Give an interview. Get creative! Just let the spotlight shine on someone else. 

Fridays: May I share something funny?
Fridays = the starts of weekends! BOOYA. Reason to celebrate and laugh on it’s own–plus, who doesn’t want to see something amusing after a long week?

About Jeannette Monahan

A writer sidetracked by life, with a husband and two boys who shine brighter than Arizona sunshine. Visit me at my blogs: jeannettemonahan.wordpress.com or jmmonahan.wordpress.com. You are always welcome.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Health, Journal Sorts of Things and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Thoughts and Blog Me MAYbe…Maybe

  1. I’m intrigued by your ‘blog me MAYbe’, nearly enough to give it a go – although I’ve got day’s catching up to do!

    Hope your ankle is healing, but, focussing on the positives, more time for writing is a good idea. Lucky you to be able to sit out on the porch – we’ve just got to the end of the wettest April since records began! Looking forward to your regular posts…

    • You should go for it! I wouldn’t worry about catching up. Yes, it was nice to sit outside, though I have to say we could use some rain around here. Too bad we can’t spread the weather wealth a little…a little sunshine for you, raindrops for us…

Leave a Reply

