Dreamz the Percocet Guy Brought Me

Pretty blue cast? Gone. Here through the first week of May? The Michelin Man's leg.

I seem to have made it through surgery in one piece. At least, I think I am now in one piece, my broken ankle held together by a plate and screws. I can’t really tell because from my angle my leg looks like it belongs on the Michelin Man. I am told I did not need the “long bolt” after all — which I’m not sure but I hope means that one or both of the bolts the doctor had talked about putting across the front (top?) of my foot to anchor the ruptured tendon aren’t there. (I’m having visions of Frankenstein here, with bolts and screws and metal plates.) Anyway, if he didn’t put them in, then he doesn’t have to take them out in 12 weeks like he also talked about, which is good news, because

This. Really. Sucks.

I’ve realized this week that I would be a poor security risk, because I might say anything just to make the pain stop, especially when my leg is down — that is, when I’m on crutches making my way from couch to bed or bathroom. I’ve also realized just how much of a potty-mouth I have at these times, and I’m glad my son is in school all day (even though I’m sure he hears far worse there).

But, I do have Percocet. Oh yeah. The trick is to take it regularly, because once it wears off, it takes forever to start working again. And when I take it regularly, I can pretty much count on hazy dayz and funky dreamz. Today, my 70-some-year-old neighbor put a blanket on a momma dog that’s been hanging around the neighborhood and then put my dog Reesie on that blanket (like she was in a saddle), and then pushed on both dogs’ back ends and slid them in front of my open front door for me to see. Reesie (who usually parks herself in front of the door when it’s open so she can see what’s happening outside) promptly jumped up and started barking at herself sliding off the side of the dog-horse. And my neighbor, fun-loving guy that he is, did that for my entertainment all afternoon.

There was another guy here, too, who looked kind of like the singer dude on Dancing with the Stars — with the hat and everything…I’ve forgotten what his name is and what he was doing here, though. Dropping off more dreamz, I think. Maybe he’ll come back later.

Now, I’m going to go take another Percocet. And when I say “go,” I don’t mean I’m actually going to go anywhere. What I will do is stretch to reach the end-table and grab the bottle, and take the pill with as little water as possible so I don’t have to go to the bathroom, which entails actual movement on crutches and major throbbing pain in my right lower extremity.

I’ve been trying to catch up on reading blogs. I haven’t got through them all. I think I managed to hit a couple like buttons between my Percocet dreamz, but I couldn’t really say for sure.

About Jeannette Monahan

A writer sidetracked by life, with a husband and two boys who shine brighter than Arizona sunshine. Visit me at my blogs: jeannettemonahan.wordpress.com or jmmonahan.wordpress.com. You are always welcome.
This entry was posted in Health, Journal Sorts of Things, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Dreamz the Percocet Guy Brought Me

  1. Janet says:

    I hope you start to feel better soon!

  2. subtlekate says:

    I’m so sorry, I’ve been there twice and you have my sympathy. All I can say is that it won’t last forever.

  3. emjayandthem says:

    You’re not gonna be reading .. and if you do, trust me, you won’t retain a thing. Rest, nap, and let others dote on you 🙂 Happy healing!
    MJ

  4. Samir says:

    Oh… good luck with the mending!

  5. i do hope you heal quickly. continue…

  6. Talk to me...I'm your Mother says:

    Oh, I feel for you. I was down with a back issue a few years ago…morphine. No dreams are worth it, tho, so I am hoping that you heal fast.

  7. I remember when I had surgery the doctor told me to hit the button as needed for pain. Problem was by the time I felt pain and hit the button, it took forever to make the pain leave. So I just kept pressing that button all the time until I fell asleep. 😉 Potty mouths are to be expected in pain. Tell your son when he break an ankle and endures surgery like you did, he can swear too. 🙂

    • Oh, I’m sure he doesn’t care a bit. He thinks I am quite the weird parent for trying to watch my mouth around him…I don’t succeed all the time of course. But I’m sure he could swear with the best of them if I let him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

