Homage

I bow down in homage to all you bloggers out there who post every day, or three times a week, or twice a week, or anything more than the barely once-a-week that I manage on this blog and the when-I-get-around-to-it on my other blog. I am in awe of your sheer originality, creativity, inventiveness, talent, wit and the fact that you are, oh, so prolific.

I just have to know — how do you do it?

The Socratic Method

Do you come by it naturally? Would you have been the great orators of times past, the debaters with solid, thought-out points of view you can express easily? Are you the ones who can think on your feet, who have quick comebacks and witty asides when you need them and not three hours later, like me?

Do you have some kind of time-travel magic that allows you to read 27 or 30 or 50 new blog posts a day, comment on them in a timely manner, and still have time to ponder and write your own blog post? Are you part of the race of super-beings who can work, play, exercise, take care of your family and still get enough sleep to function without too much of a struggle?

I bow toย  your awesomeness.

I just have to know — how do you do it?

…and will it rub off if I hang around long enough?

D02_0005

About Jeannette Monahan

A writer sidetracked by life, with a husband and two boys who shine brighter than Arizona sunshine. Visit me at my blogs: jeannettemonahan.wordpress.com or jmmonahan.wordpress.com. You are always welcome.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Homage

  1. mj monaghan says:

    Here’s how you do it Monahan, no ‘g’:

    You become obsessive. Ditch all other things in your life. Have your spouse/significant other think you’ve totally lost your priorities. Continue to track your blog and others on your iPhone, even when out to dinner with family.

    Think that about sums it up.

    Yeah, the people back in the day probably got the same complaints from those around them, too! hehe

  2. Drangedinaz says:

    Yes, I too want to know the secret! I have no time, even when I try to make time. I have plenty of ideas but no time to bring them to fruition. All I can say is ‘ you are not alone’. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Thanks, Tina! That’s nice to know. I might have to do a search for blogs about blogging — I know there are probably zillions out there — and try and pick up some tips. I’ll let you know if I find any good ones.

  3. Cecile says:

    Hi Jeannette, when you do find that answer, could you please share it with me too? I really don’t know how other people do it, but I think it is indeed a great gift if you can come up with more than one blog every week.

  4. Yep, it would be a great gift if I had it! ๐Ÿ™‚ And if I find it, of course I’ll share! As it is, I am thinking I need to combine my blogs — I just have to figure out how. Or if it’s even possible. sigh…so much about WordPress I just don’t know. Thanks for stopping by, Cecile. I love your guys’ blog.

  5. subtlekate says:

    It’s really simple. Have nothing else going on in your life. I think for me it was having years and years of stuff built up and suddenly letting it out, so it’s a bit of a back log. Once I found my voice I really found and it now I can’t shut up. I am sure I will, eventually. I found blogging when I was going through cancer treatment so I could concentrate on other things and not feeling so blah all the time and it was great therapy. Now that I am mending, I’m getting around to more blogs and finding out how fantastic they are. Like yours. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, Kate. And thanks for the follow. I’ve always believed writing, of any kind, is good therapy. I’m so happy blogging helped you through your cancer treatment and also happy that you are getting well. I’ll stop by and visit soon.

  6. Love the comment from your g-ful namesake – probably sums it up! I subscribed to a magazine for women writers – mslexia – and the next edition featured an article on blogging and how it can get in the way of ‘real’ writing. I was interested to read it but my subscription ran out. It’s possible to subscribe digitally and then you have access to back editions. Something else I probably won’t get around to doing!

    • Hmm. I would have like to read that article, too. I suppose it depends on a person’s definition of “real” writing. Some of the writing I’ve come across on blogs is as good as or better than any I’ve seen in books or magazines. I’m amazed, actually, when I think about these zillions of people writing blogs…what did they all do with their time before? Boy, I guess that dates me a little, because I’m sure there are lots of bloggers who don’t even remember a time before there was a blogosphere.

  7. or should that be g-ful – perhaps you could edit my comment!!??

  8. Talk to me...I'm your Mother says:

    Hi Jeannette. It was easy for me to blog every day when I first began. I didn’t read any other blogs and my thoughts poured into my keys. This blog world has created a black hole for me. When I turn on my computer I see all of the new posts and either become overwhelmed or read them and get discouraged about the skill level and thought processes.
    Now I am barely writing one post a week. Go figure.
    I think that I need to get back to my own original purpose…which was to communicate with my own loved ones and not feel guilty about not being in touch with people I have never met. Am I crazy?
    (This is probably TMI!)

    • I don’t think you’re crazy. I know what you mean about the black hole. I was feeling very overwhelmed with it all, too. I still am, but since I broke my ankle I’ve had all kinds of time, and it keeps me from going out of my mind with boredom. I know that will change again once I am back on my feet (literally). I don’t think you should be discouraged about the skill level and thought processes, though I understand and also feel that way sometimes. I like what you write and how you write, or I wouldn’t have followed you, and there are so, so many different styles of writing and types of blogs…don’t compare yourself; we’re all unique. Everyone has their own reasons for blogging and if yours is to write for your family, you shouldn’t feel guilty. I think there is a way to make your blog private, too, though I’d have to go check out my WordPress for Dummies book to find out how. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

