I Am the Mulberry Tree

I remember, as a child, looking at the calendar bulletin board in class. March usually had cut-outs of a roaring lion at the beginning of the month and a docile lamb at the end: March comes in like a lion and goes out like a lamb. The old adage refers to March’s weather, of course, and I never thought of it any differently.

Our mulberry tree, just over 20 years old.

But, I have lived most of my life in places where weather doesn’t happen that way. It’s either the rainy season or the dry season. It’s warm or it’s cool. It’s not changeable, volatile or moody. Today, where I am, the weather is sunny and cool, on its way to warm. I am sitting out back, and I am perfectly comfortable in the shade. The mulberry tree we had pruned so far back it looked dead at the beginning of March is now sprouting leaves, vibrant green against blue sky.

I woke up this morning thinking “in like a lion, out like a lamb,” and because the weather is obviously not a factor, I’ve concluded my subconscious must be telling me something. Or maybe my kids and my husband are sending me telepathic messages. I think what it boils down to is “chill out.”

These last few weeks, I have been unusually changeable, volatile, moody. I can chalk it up to circumstance — that is, a temporarily absent husband during a temporarily trying time, or I can chalk it up to brain chemicals, or I can just chalk it up to a plain old bad mood brought on by six months of unemployment and no end in sight.

Reach for the sky.

But today, where I am, the sun is bright. The birds are singing. A soft breeze blows my hair away from my face. It’s spring, and a time for new beginnings. I am back to school on Monday to start copyediting classes. I found out this week that I will be going to a writer’s workshop in July. I have the world’s best, most understanding husband and the world’s coolest, quirkiest kids. I have goals to meet and dreams to strive for. My works in progress await me (no, not my kids — the other ones).

Just playin' around.

I am the mulberry tree, and  life is good.

About Jeannette Monahan

A writer sidetracked by life, with a husband and two boys who shine brighter than Arizona sunshine. Visit me at my blogs: jeannettemonahan.wordpress.com or jmmonahan.wordpress.com. You are always welcome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Am the Mulberry Tree

  1. mamadestroy says:

    A few years ago I said to a mom on the playground, after she remarked on the strong March winds, “Well, March comes in like a lion and goes out like a lamb.” She looked at me like I was a complete lunatic and said, “That’s very poetic, Amanda.” I laughed and told her that it was a very common saying. She said that she’d never heard it before, having grown up in Southern California. Here in NY this year, the March winds have been very strong, but the Magnolia trees and the daffodils are already done blooming. So I am not sure what exactly the April Showers are going to bring since many of the May Flowers are gone before March has gone gentle. I am so glad that you have been able to weather the shifting mood of March and find a more gentle balance. Thanks for sharing your wise words. “I am the mulberry tree, and life is good.” Lovely.

    • Thank you, Amanda. 🙂 It’s hard to imagine that someone has never heard that saying before — I guess I thought it’s something all kids learn at school. It has been a strange winter hasn’t it? My husband’s family in Wisconsin had warmer weather than we did at times.

      • mamadestroy says:

        It’s been a strange winter and a strange spring– here all of the tulips, daffodils, magnolias, even the irises, have bloomed and in many cases are gone, but the leaves are not yet on the trees. We have had days where the sun has shone down quite strongly and the temperature has reached the upper 70’s, but the trees provide no shade.

  2. Samir says:

    You are the mulberry tree, which is why you’re sprouting new ideas and emotions, and basking in the warmth, soaking in the sunlight. Enjoy the weather and the hope and optimism that Spring brings out in us. After you’ve done all you can, things will work themselves out eventually 😉

  3. Talk to me...I'm your Mother says:

    Ah, sometimes I can compare our Lion/Lamb weather here to my moods. But I’m hoping you can be better than I am about accepting both the weather and your moods. I try to remind myself that…this, too, shall pass. It looks as if you have some positive things passing through and you recognize it. Good for you.

  4. mj monaghan says:

    Fantastic that you’re about to take a class and have an upcoming workshop – hopefully, that’s in my future! I love to learn almost more than anything else. Congrats on the new beginning.

    The post also reminded me of the old children’s song, “Here we go ’round the mulberry bush …”

Leave a Reply

