Another Happy Surprise

It’s taken me a while, but I would like to thank Janet at www.postcardfiction.com for passing on the Kreativ Blogger award to me. Please go visit Janet’s blog. Her photos and her 50-word stories are so interesting and creative (kreativ!), and I really enjoy them. I hope you will, too.

 

I have copy/pasted the rules for the award from Janet’s blog:

  • Display the award image on your blog.
  • Acknowledge the nominator.
  • List ten things about yourself that readers probably don’t know.
  • Pass the award along by nominating at least six other blogs you enjoy reading. Although it’s a little bit “chain letter”ish in that regard, it is a nice way to show others you appreciate and enjoy their dedicated words.

So, 10 things you probably don’t know about me:

  1. I was born in Ankara, Turkey.
  2. I love the beach and the ocean, but have nightmares about tidal waves. I feel like I died in one in another life. Weird.
  3. I hate seafood and can’t even watch the creepy crawly things on Red Lobster commercials. Hmm…maybe this has something to do with the whole tidal wave thing…
  4. I cry at Hallmark commercials, movies, books — you name it, they get me every time.
  5. One of my all-time favorite books is The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran. I bought it when I was 14 or 15, and it is well worn. I wrote a poem in that style for my mom after my dad died.
  6. I am the master of unfinished projects.
  7. I am an Air Force brat and spent seven years in the AF myself.
  8. I would so love to be able to carry a tune. And draw.
  9. One of my favorite food combinations is warm mashed potatoes dipped in cold applesauce.
  10. I LOVE ice cream, and I am continually bummed that I can only get my favorite, Caramel Collision, when I go to Wisconsin. My other favorite is Peanut Butter Panic.

Okay, now for six other deserving blogs — I am fairly new at the blogging thing, and haven’t quite figured out how to manage following a ton of blogs. I really like all the blogs I follow (of course) so it’s hard to choose, but here goes:

Brian Westbye – “Snapshots and stories,” Like Janet’s blog, though a bit longer.

From the Domestic Bubble – Love the idea of the “domestic bubble,” love the blog.

Cecile’s Writers – Four writers sharing the load in the Netherlands. Samir led me there.

MJ Monaghan – Good humor and observations.

Life is Short — Write it All Down – Musing and book reviews

Sticking to the Story – What can I say? I like editing/writing blogs.

I will be updating my blogroll soon, with the other blogs I read that are just as worthy as these!

Thanks again, Janet! 🙂

About Jeannette Monahan

A writer sidetracked by life, with a husband and two boys who shine brighter than Arizona sunshine. Visit me at my blogs: jeannettemonahan.wordpress.com or jmmonahan.wordpress.com. You are always welcome.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Another Happy Surprise

  1. Samir says:

    Hey Jeannette, thanks so much for nominating Cecile’s Writers, very kind and also, rewarding to know you like our blog enough to do this 😀

  2. Talk to me...I'm your Mother says:

    Congrats, Jeannette. Nice going. It’s fun to learn more about you. I wasted years when I could have been appreciating The Prophet. My mother gave it to me at a time when I was sure that anything she liked must be stupid. Years later when I finally opened it, I was amazed at how smart she was…even way back then.

    • Thanks! I’m glad to hear you like The Prophet too, even though it took you a while to get around to it. I gave both my boys copies for Valentine’s Day and they both looked kinda mystified. 😦 They liked the chocolate though. I hope when they finally read it, it will make as good an impression on them as it did on you.
      Oh, and thanks for following!

  3. mj monaghan says:

    Congrats on your well-deserved honor, Jeannette! You are a Kreativ blogger. Hmm, Air Force, eh? Me too. For eight years. 🙂 Really loved it.

    And thank you so much for the nomination as well. It is greatly appreciated!

    • You’re very welcome. Where were you stationed when you were in the AF? Wish I could say I loved it, but…I didn’t. All these years later, I find I do miss going places but not enough to put up with the rest.

Leave a Reply

