Drop the Mouse, and Step Away From the Computer

My two favorite Christmas tree ornaments.

I have been absent for a few weeks, breaking one of the cardinal rules of blogging as I understand them: Post Regularly.  I have the same excuses as anyone else, I suppose. The holidays, the kids home from school on winter break, Christmas decorating, Christmas shopping, Christmas baking, etc., etc., etc.

But I also admit to computer burn-out. I’ve sat in front of a computer almost all day, nearly every day (it feels like) for 18 years. Ugh. One day at the beginning of December, as I guiltily took a break to hang garland on the arch in the living room, my computer kept looking at me reproachfully.

Yes. My computer has eyes. You can’t see them, but they’re there. They follow me, like the eyes in a Jesus painting.

I sighed and decided I should get back to my writing.  I climbed down off the ladder, and walked over to the couch, where my laptop was waiting impatiently. Just as I was about to pick it up, I heard a voice from above.

Well, okay… it was inside my head. Lots of voices there some days. This one said, “Drop the mouse, and step away from the computer.” I could feel the virtual gun behind me, pointed at my back. So, really, I had no choice. And since I am currently making no money 😦  I decided, what the hell. And I didn’t touch the computer until this week. (I did check email a couple times when the voice was sleeping.)

And what did I see this week, first thing, when I checked email after about five or six days of not? An email sent four days earlier from a magazine editor saying she was interested in the article I submitted!! Oh my gosh, I wanted to karate kick the gun at my back and kill the voice in my head. All virtually, of course, since I don’t know karate or how to kill the voices.

So now I am back at my computer, and really, it’s not so bad. The busy-ness of the holidays is over. I actually have time to breathe, and my computer is not giving me the evil eye anymore. I am happy to say we are friends again. These last couple days I have been in contact with the editor and the man the article is about, and I can’t imagine doing that without my trusty computer. I must have been temporarily insane. I understand the holidays will do that to a person.

I just sent off another email to the editor with the information she asked for, and I’m praying to whatever gods there be that this all works out. It will be my first sold article, a goal I have been reaching for off and on for years. Whoever reads this in the blogosphere, please cross your fingers and wish me luck. Send all your good vibes my way. I will be forever appreciative!

And I’ll keep you informed, because my #2 resolution this year (eye roll) is to, yes, Post Regularly. #1 is to lose a few pounds, but that’s been on the list so long I don’t even see it anymore.

Hmm… think I’ll go have some leftover lasagna for lunch!

 

It might not look like much, but it is yummy in my tummy!

About Jeannette Monahan

A writer sidetracked by life, with a husband and two boys who shine brighter than Arizona sunshine. Visit me at my blogs: jeannettemonahan.wordpress.com or jmmonahan.wordpress.com. You are always welcome.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Drop the Mouse, and Step Away From the Computer

  1. emjayandthem says:

    Crossing my fingers and toes for you! How very exciting 🙂 MJ

    • Thank you, MJ! I am excited, but nervous too. It is not a done deal, and I feel very much like a novice having never gotten this far in the process before. Hopefully tomorrow or the next day I will have another email and it will be good news…

  2. Crossing everything out here in the blogosphere! Good luck.

  3. Pingback: Wish Me Luck! And, The Next Step « J.M. Monahan

  4. Talk to me...I'm your Mother says:

    Good luck! This is exciting and I wish you the best.

Leave a Reply

