An Ordinary Miracle

A change in the weather is nothing out of the ordinary, but it’s still amazing. Amazing, too, what a little cool sunshine and fresh air can do for a person’s mood. This week, finally, I can open the doors a let the cross-breeze blow through, which means it also blew my dust bunnies around, which means I could not put off sweeping any longer. But, hey, my doors are open and it’s not an oven outside, and that makes me happy! We are heading into Arizona’s best time of year.

Reesie was a bouncy pup this morning–I think she felt the change in the air too.

Reesie and I could even go for a walk this morning without dripping sweat by the time we got home. Earlier this week I was listening to NPR podcasts as I walked–because, I think, hearing voices (no, not the ones in my head :) ) made me miss my absent hubby less. But this morning, I decided on music. I was already happy because the air felt cooler, and I was happy because said hubby will be home today. I was thinking how glad I was to have read Arlene’s post at Science and Story yesterday about turning 50, and how I need to take a more positive view on my own upcoming milestone.

Speaking from the middle (and I optimistically think of 50 as the middle), it has been a rough few weeks. In addition to dealing with constant traveling, we have worried about children (two-legged and four-legged) and worried about parents. And the children were easier. Ha! I never thought I’d say that. But, the truth is I feel more competent as a mom lately than I do as a daughter or daughter-in-law. I can handle kid-worry and feel reasonably competent in coming up with a solution to whatever the problem might be. But aging parents leave me helpless. My mom is 70, my mother-in-law is 77, and my father-in- law is 83 next week. We are dealing with medical issues, distance issues, safety issues, sibling issues, and just plain ol’ drama (ugh). All of it has weighed heavy, and sometimes the mortality of it all paralyzes me.

A flock of ducks–I wanted to get closer but I didn’t want to scare them away.

But for a little while this morning, the worry eased. The air was cool and not summer-oppressive. I saw ducks! And even better, Reesie didn’t chase after them. I thought about what I have accomplished this week, instead of what I haven’t. I thanked what powers there be that my father-in-law is in the early stages of Parkinson’s (treatable) rather than Alzheimer’s (as was suspected) and that my sister-in-law had the time and the money to fly home twice in one month to take care of all the doctor appointments. I thought about how fun it was to watch Dr. Who with my son last night, who, for once, wasn’t buried under a mound of homework. I had a skip in my step and my pony was swinging.

Every song that played this morning had something to say to me. Sometimes, I skip through the slow songs because I feel like I need to stay upbeat to keep ahead of the…I don’t know what–the melancholy, maybe. But this morning, I was happily noticing the “ordinary miracles” taking place all around me, like cooler weather, migrating mallards, and a bouncy pup. Go ahead..listen, then appreciate.  :)

About Jeannette Monahan

A writer sidetracked by life, with a husband and two boys who shine brighter than Arizona sunshine. Visit me at my blogs: jeannettemonahan.wordpress.com or jmmonahan.wordpress.com. You are always welcome.
This entry was posted in Family, Musings, Parenting, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to An Ordinary Miracle

  1. emjayandthem says:

    You have a lot on your list; sounds like today you made it a point to put YOU on the list, too. I, too, find that getting outside and moving and away from all that consumes us makes just enough of a difference to let me actually see the ordinary miracles that surround me.

    Bests!
    MJ

    PS great song :)

  2. pharphelonus says:

    nice song. nicer post. it’s been gorgeous here too. I love it.

  3. I love that song. It is inspirational indeed, and her voice is the only one that can do it justice. And I’m glad that I could help in some small way to make your day a little brighter. You are part of the “sandwich” generation, and sometimes it’s not fun, but an eye for ordinary miracles helps.

  4. Hi Jeannette,

    That was a beautiful song. Good to remember how lucky we are for all the tiny blessings in our lives. Thanks for sharing it. I am sorry you have so much to carry. Wishing you and your family all the best.

  5. Ahh, I remember it well. Although I started earlier than you and was dealing with parents while I wanted to be with grandchildren. Now I’m hoping that I can plan so that I don’t put my children in this bind. Life has a way of taking over, tho.
    Happy you are having happy days, too.

  6. mj monaghan says:

    I’m at a similar stage, except the kids are all grown. Parents are in the midwest and we are in California. They are a similar age as you describe above. And we haven’t been back in a few years. I’m not a “flier” unfortunately, or it would be easier. Plus I’m on the job hunt. I just remain glass half full regardless. I’m from the “never let ‘em see you sweat” generation. :)

    My prayer for you is a peace of mind about all you have going on.

  7. I love when the weather changes. :) Sorry you are facing worries from above and below. That’s a lot of stress coming at you. Glad you could enjoy a walk with the dog and see the birds. :)

  8. A brilliant post! I love the song, Ordinary Miracle, hadn’t heard it before, but it’s beautiful! :D

Leave a Reply

